Back in the Game, Back to Business

22 07 2009

… back to the business of Giving Something New.

Few know it, but one of many reasons I use the phrase “Giving Something New” is to imply that I will be constantly trying new things to be on the “Bleeding Edge,” but also that I will be doing something that many people consider both new and old: not stopping or giving up. You see, instead of “giving up” I “give something new.”

Case in point: I have not blogged in many months, due to finishing my PR degree, finding out that I need a technical major to get into the Air Force now, and having to go back and get my CS degree. The rules changed for me, an in order to pursue my dreams and accomplish my goals, I have to change with them.

As such, I have been busy with very practical things in the following months since I nearly graduated… like studying, and working at two jobs – jobs where I have learned patience in service, and mastery of hardware technology. However, this has limited my time with the PR community. And now, after much nudging and prodding by the PR community I was previously so engaged in… I am back. I am giving you something new: a blog post. In fact, a blog post about trying new things, and new approaches, as this has been what my life has been about for these last few months. Don’t think I’m being serious? Check the new hair color.

So, below is a list of the new things I am trying, and my reasoning for why I am suggesting them to you.

NameChk.Com

Ever wanted to make sure that, as the professional you are, no one takes your unique username? Go here. See which sites have your name, and which don’t… and seize the opportunity to keep them for yourself.

Whrrl.Com

Applicable as both a social media community, and an app for most smart phones, you can now coordinate your combination of Facebook, Twitter, Google, etc. into one easy-to-use interface.

Loopt.Com

Many of the things I am suggesting are not entirely new, including this. But it is new in that I have been hitherto unable and wary of trying this for the sole reason that I can be tracked anywhere. I could hide behind the idea with other social mediums that I wasn’t giving away my exacty location. This takes that final step. Its useful, but also creepy. So use with caution… but get your toes wet.

Growing a Backbone and Telling People “No”

Wanna work as the social media consultant for a company, but they don’t want to pay you reasonably? Tell them no. I got offered $500 to run the entire SM campaign for a company. For a college student, it was attractive. If I didn’t realize they would pay others more… and if I hadn’t done simple math (something I’m getting better at, by the way) and realized that for the time spent, I would be earning less than minimum wage. And when I countered, they bailed out. Lesson learned: don’t let companies push you over just because this is “new age marketing.” What you do is not snake oil sales. Its business and building 21st century relationships.

Growing a Backbone and Telling People “Yes”

However, when a company is willing to approach you and pay you for plugging their company… and you already do it… I would take the money. Case in point: recently a financial site that I frequent regularly and brag about already has offered me money for each time I plug them. Which I do often. And now I’m earning money on the side for being honest about a company I like. In case you haven’t noticed my rants… you might want to check out yourpersonalfinance101.com .

Until next post,

–JMS–

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

