A Cause to Believe In

20 01 2009
Want hope? Want change? Want to improve yourself? Want to get in shape and tired of looking at that sagging tire swing around your waist?

PUT YOUR MONEY WHERE YOUR MOUTH IS.

Join…

… Crimson for a Cure (www.crimsonforacure.com)

Crimson for a Cure is a project for University of Alabama students to honor the past and give hope for the future by raising money for breast cancer research and awareness. Students volunteer to train for and run or walk Nashville’s Country Music Half Marathon on April 25, 2009. Each participant will recruit a minimum of three sponsors who will donate a minimum of five cents for every mile run during ten weeks of official training and the race. All proceeds from this project will go to Colleges Against Cancer’s American Cancer Society Relay For Life event and will be directed toward breast cancer research and awareness.

So basically, you can either join and run/walk 13.1 miles, or pledge so much money.

PERSONALLY: I would like to have you join me and run. But I know that some of you don’t want to commit. And I get that. I’m not requiring it. But if you don’t, can you atleast help by pledging for me?

I mean… 5 cents per mile run during training and the actual event… at the high end of things thats 200 miles, making it like 10 dollars or so. I will run 13.1 miles to save you the time of running and you can help me by pledging $10 or more… or you can run with me and we can have an experience to talk about later.

And really, as far as the running goes, I’m new to it. After 2-3 weeks of training, I am up to 5.5 miles at a time, and climbing. You can do this too.

Contact me at 205.310.6702 or jacob.summers@gmail.com or givingsomethingnew.wordpress.com or twitter.com/jacobsummers if you would like to help.

–JMS–

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 01 2009
Danny Brown

I’m in. Great cause and good for you for taking the challenge up.

22 01 2009
mirandanichole

Do you take check?

22 01 2009
jacobsummers

Yes, I do. I can also have you send it to my paypal, via jacob.summers@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

