It’s Not You… It’s Me. Actually, it IS you. I can’t lie.

18 01 2009

So I realized something. Our nation is full of morons. Wait. I knew that. Let me explain the latest examples…

So I’m running 4.0 miles (yes, insert applause here), and I’m really getting into it. I’ve been working up to 3, and then this run, I decided to jump a full mile forward instead of one. Well, I run about 11 laps, walk 10, then run the last 14. Well, at the end, I’m preparing for my final lap. My final lap is the one where I just bust my tail to get to the end. I run like The Flash. Well, the lap comes and I plant my heels momentarily, before dashing forward. In my head, I’m running like the Blonski from The Incredible Hulk with men slowing down around me… when all of a sudden… this girl screams “It’s not a race!”

[Insert mental what-the-hey here.]

I wasn’t racing.

But if I were, she lost. No hard feelings, but you don’t drag someone down when they’re working out. Was I booing her as I glossed past her? No. Most people understand that when someone is dashing, its part of their workout.

Well, the next time, I ran 4.5 miles and as I passed the next fastest guy, I started a conversation with him:

“How are you sir?”

“Good. You?”

“Good. Hey, I’m not trying to race you… just dashing my last lap.”

“No, hey, I admire the drive.”

“Good, because someone last week got onto me for it and I was astounded.”

“Who cares about her?”

“Exactly.”

All of this without panting as I finished the last lap and heard the guy mutter “who can run that fast?”

All ego aside… the point is… people have always pulled each other down, but lately, in light of desperate economic times and uncertainty, it seems to happen more prevalently – no one wants to see others do better. Because that means you’re subpar. Wake up. That means work harder. Then, we have a nation of hard workers willing to do what it takes, and no whiners sitting on the track getting trampled.

In addition, my mom got a phone call from a solicitor about getting in on the bailout by calling to have any debt removed.

So,yeah. Thanks, America, for falling into the same flawed way of thinking.

–JMS–

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 01 2009
Jessica

She was just jealous. 🙂

That’s what I tell myself, anyway.

Seriously, though, it seems like many people have gotten in on the “bailout mentality.” I feel like I’m always at the rec, and it seems to me (no official research done) that numbers are down from last January to this January (all the New-Year’s-Resolution-Makers). Could it be that we’ve all bought into the mentality that we own no responsibility for where we are in life? That it’s someone else’s mess? That it’s too hard to make a difference myself – to lose weight, to get in shape, to stand out, to do that one thing I’ve always wanted to do – so I should wait around for someone else to do it, or at least find an easier way to make myself feel good about who I am?

That’s why I’m so proud of everyone who does run distance races. You have to commit to the long haul and you have to understand that it’s going to be hard. You push yourself and at the finish line you know that you – not someone else – finished. By yourself. I’m excited and privileged to be running with you over the next couple of months!

19 01 2009
jacobsummers

I am very excited and privileged as well. 🙂

And I agree. It’s like “well, everything else is falling through. I’ll redeem myself with a last minute save later.” While people have always generally been lazy, these days its worse. I remember thinking during my last run… I can’t do these last few laps… I’m kinda dragging. Then I remembered that I had done them before and what kind of motivation and confidence I had gained and kept going… and finished with my fastest lap ever.

People need to learn to start someplace, build confidence, hold on and look at the bigger picture.

Every time I need motivation, I think of the time I cold-turkey biked 50 miles as part of the 100 mile marathon and people kept telling me to give up because I was wearing the wrong things, riding a mountain bike, didn’t have proper nutrition and it was hot. But I kept going, outlasted others, and finished. Not the 100 miles, mind you, but as much as I could physically push myself to do. People seem to forget the mentality of 100% or even the jockish 110%. Sure, they might wind up with egos like mine, but things will get done.

Leave a Reply

